h1

Live Every Shift

October 29, 2007

That’s the NHL’s new tagline for the year, being introduced in two commercials starting today: “Is This the Year” and “I Pledge.” Let’s take a look at both of them.

Is This The Year?

Ryan Miller, Sid, Ovechkin, Vinny LeCavalier, Eric Staal and Wayne Gretzky all make an appearance in this first ad. Its a very good commercial, and Miller does a very adept line reading (much better than his teammates in the Dave & Adam’s commercials). I like the line from Staal about finding this year who is Dad’s favorite. I even like that Ovie speaks in Russian. I’m not sure what Gretzky’s doing in the ad, other than to be there for the sake of being there.

The second commercial in this series promotes the Reebok jerseys, which is comical, considering the problems that the players have been having adjusting to them.

I Pledge

Thank you Crunchy, for pledging that a hole is only a hole if its open. Those are words of wisdom right up there with “books are the foundation of reading.” I’m not blaming you, I’m blaming the copywriter for that bit of triteness. I’m also a sucker for Sid’s line about playing for the logo on the front, not the name on the back. Sid looks good here, and I’m now feeling like a semi-dirty-old-lady for saying that.

The NHL.com article discusses more of the behind the scenes details, including the fact that all of the players were shot helmetless, except for Miller. Well, duh. If you’re going to be filming a goalie stopping a puck, it might not be wise to shoot him helmetless. Especially when he is on a team where the coach might just cut a bitch.

I like the look and feel of these commercials. Its crisp and clean, which is what hockey is all about. I’m interested to see what other ones the NHL is going to roll out, and if they will continue to star these same players.

8 comments

  1. Ryan’s pretty good! I’ll agree that he doesn’t have a ton of competition from his teammates but he manages to sound like he’s not reading straight off a cue card. But “a hole isn’t a hole unless it’s open”? Yeah, that’s a clunker.


  2. I love these commercials! I do have to say, I’m sort of shocked that Crunchy get to be in them. I must be underestimating his star appeal or something. I’ll admit I’m thrilled that the first line in the ad is “Is this the year the Cup comes to Buffalo?” The answer is, “Um, no. Probably not.”, but the line still gave me shivers of joy. Ryan is pretty good.


  3. The answer is, “Um, no. Probably not.”, but the line still gave me shivers of joy.

    Kate! I’m devastated!


  4. Kate! I’m devastated!

    Me too! You’re too new of a hockey fan to be as cynical as the rest of us.


  5. Oh!

    What I meant to say was “Yes! This IS the year! Whoooo-oooo!!”

    (I don’t think it is in my nature to be all, “We’re going all the way!” It’s just not my style. But it IS my style to love them no matter what [except Vanek]. You can definitely count on me not to get pissy.)


  6. I’m not going to insist that we’re going all the way because that’s just goofy. But I’m definitely a “You never know” person because well, you never know, especially in hockey where things like a suddenly hot goalie or suddenly struggling offense can change everything.

    So in closing, you never know!


  7. I don’t want to be rude or anything but I believe that is Eric Staal, not Jordan, correct me if I’m wrong.


  8. B –

    Nope, that’s not rude. Thanks for the correction. I went back and fixed the paragraph. My mind must’ve been thinking Sid and Staal and picked the Staal that played with Sid.

    Thanks for reading!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

