h1

When Good Ads Go Bad

November 27, 2007

Online advertising has some of the best opportunities for unique creative applications. You can do roadblocks, tearaways, bellybands, and my favorite, rollovers. I like them the most, but they’re also the ones that annoy the hell out of me the most. Go figure.

So I was one Sabres.com today at the end of the work day, reading about Clarke MacArthur. I go to exit my browser and am hit with the following ad for the new Reebok jerseys:

creepymiller.jpg

Is the NHL trying to give me a heart attack? The left and center of the ad are alright, but the image of Miller is seriously creepy. (Not to mention, he looks like Milo V, and Milo’s not creepy!) And the tagline about his crease being the coldest place on earth. There are so many places that I could take a comment like that, but I just can’t go there right now. I should not be coming up with dirty jokes while reading an online ad!

3 comments

  1. I hate that ad! It just pops up out nowhere! One day it just kept popping up over and over! Get it off my screen! I’m not buying your jersey!

    Hey, he does look kind of like Milo V. in that picture. Weird.


  2. I had that same problem with that ad last night on the Ducks site. I went to look up a roster # for the game diary and the ad came up and WOULD NOT GO AWAY. Only instead of Crunchy, it was CHRIS PRONGER!!! It was bad enough it’s making me type in ALL CAPS!!!


  3. That whole RBK Edge fiasco is absolutely absurd…so is their advertising.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

