h1

Make a Joyful Noise

December 30, 2007

Tonight’s concert with Ronan Tynan and the BPO was abso-fucking-lutely amazing. The only way it would have been more abso-fucking-lutely amazing if Katebits had been playing in the BPO tonight.

It was a great mix of Irish music, pop music (Springsteen!), show tunes and holiday music. He sang some of my favorite songs:

Hallelujah – he made it upbeat, which I didn’t think was possible with this song.

Smile – which, believe it or not, was written by Charlie Chaplin. I’m just familiar with the Nat King Cole version, which is heartbreaking.

Ave Maria – which always reminds me of the first West Wing Big Block of Cheese episode, Josh asks CJ if she knows the piece, and her response is a simple “I’m Catholic,” with a smirk. I’m not doing it justice, but it leads into a great scene with Bradley Whitford and Allison Janney.

Danny Boy – I can’t hear Danny Boy without thinking of that stupid Saved By The Bell episode where Slater’s lizard Artie dies, and they have a funeral for it. They bastardize Danny Boy as “oh artie boy, the ponds, the ponds are calling, there’s gnats and ants, mosquitoes on the fly.” I can’t remember what I had for dinner last night, but this stupid moment sticks in my head.

The BPO provided the Christmas music, with Greensleeves, Sleigh Ride and Pachelbel’s Canon.

Now onto the important stuff: the performances of Miller and Stafford. Both came out in jeans and boots. Staffy wore a simple black button-down shirt untucked and Miller wore a green striped button down shirt (tucked in, which…NO!) and what was either a grey or brown jacket. Staffy definitely looked more comfortable in his own skin, on the guitar and on the stage. He moved around the stage really well, and was in complete control of his instrument (hee!). Miller seemed rooted to one spot and was carefully going through the songs. I don’t know if Staffy’s got more experience with the guitar or a better ear for music, but he’s got a stage presence. He really was smoking hot. (Side note, I checked the team roster, and Miller and Staffy are the same height, but Staffy has almost 35 pounds on Miller. Can someone please feed our goalie a sammich or something? Poor boy looks like he’s wasting away.)

Tynan admonished Staffy that he needs to take better care of himself, since we need him around for this season and next. Stafford sheepishly took Tynan’s advice. Tynan also brought the two of them souvenirs from his recent USO tour to Bagram, Afghanistan. While Staffy and Miller were setting up their guitars, some yahoo in the crowd started a “Let’s Go Buffalo” chant, which Tynan then proceeded to lead from the stage, and Staffy accompanied on the guitar.

After that ruckus, they were on stage for two songs by U2: I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For and All I Want is You. Tynan did change the lyrics so that we were looking for Stanley and all I Want Is Stanley. He wants to make this into a yearly event, saying how much fun this would be next year with Stanley in the middle of the stage. Miller and Stafford just laughed at that one.

Spotted in the crowd were: Larry Quinn (I was sending him “sign Soupy now and cheap” vibes), former Rep. Jack Quinn, Ed Kilgore of WGRZ (who surprisingly was not working the room on the intermission), the Sabres goalie coach and the Sabres PR guy. I did not see Lindy or Darcy, but they could have been there for all I know.

It was a great show. I really would recommend going to see him if you ever have the opportunity.

11 comments

  1. EEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!! Staffy’s such a dreamboat! I’m so glad to hear that he was able to drag himself off his sickbed to rock out. I’m sorry he wasn’t wearing his leopard-print head bandage, though. I’m so jealous you got to see the show! It sounds fantastic, and what’s better than seeing Crunchy and Staffy being the kick-ass musicians they am? EEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!


  2. EEEE!!! Staffy’s so adorable! Er, pardon me, smoking hot! I’m not at all surprised that he was a little more exuberant compared to Crunchy. Ever since I heard it was Staffy who was going to be involved, I’ve been imaging him doing his full Fabian routine while the BPO playing along like the orchestra in the Simpsons episode with Cypress Hill.


  3. Miller wore a green striped button down shirt (tucked in, which…NO!) and what was either a grey or brown jacket.

    I have to say, I approve of tucking in a button down in all but the most casual of circumstances. And wearing a belt. But with shoes, not boots.

    I’m glad it was such a fun time!


  4. Amy! I WAS there! I will forgive you for not picking me out of the crowd while Staffy and Crunchy on stage, however. Drew Stafford is blindingly hot up close. I really had no idea about him. He is just RIVETING!


  5. Do you remember the name of the first song Ronan Tynan sang? I’m challenging my mother-in-law on this, and I think I can prove her wrong! Amazing show, by the way! Stafford is smoking! It would have been great if he and Miller played one more song. I like the kind that’s good too!


  6. I was there too! We were up in the balcony so we couldn’t see as well, but I’m a HUGE fan of the untucked button-down, particularly if the top one or two buttons are left open (ala Pommerdoodle when he wears one). Drool.

    I was a little surprised they were that casually dressed, though. I was hoping we’d see some tuxes. Double drool.

    Did any of you hear Soupy’s call-out when the guys were introduced? My friend and I turned to each other and said “Campbell”.

    AWESOME concert, and so worth the money! I’m gonna run out and get me some Tynan CDs! Show of hands – who’s gonna buy the Invisible Children CD when it comes out? *raising hand*


  7. […] let it be stated for the record, we are not satisfied. None of these things happened. Staffy and Crunchy, you’ve let us down. Next time, gentlemen, we expect […]


  8. After that ruckus, they were on stage for two songs by U2: I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For and All I Want is You. Tynan did change the lyrics so that we were looking for Stanley and all I Want Is Stanley.

    Come on, Ronan! Changing anything about those two beautifully perfect songs is a crime. Other than that though the night sounds awesome! Even though I wouldn’t have been able to use them I am theoretically sorry I didn’t buy tickets! :-D

    But hot Staffy? I don’t know if I buy it.


  9. Amanda – that was Soupy causing such a ruckus when Miller and Staffy came out? I was in the lower level, and just heard the general noise from the balcony.

    Kate – I think its awesome you crashed the concert!

    Heather – if you didn’t have to prop your leg up, you probably would have been able to attend, had you had tickets. There were a ton of people with walkers and wheelchairs, so crutches would not have been too out of place.

    And yes, Staffy is hot!

    http://buffalo.myspotted.com/pages/big_photo.php?mm=1633541&gallery=298686


  10. Yeah, that was Soupy. I think he’s in love with Crunchy. That would explain why neither has a girlfriend. Staffy does, though. I think he’s had a girlfriend since he was 4. That’s when the world realized he was hot.


  11. Hi Mary! The first song Tynan sang was The Impossible Dream from Man of La Mancha.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

