h1

Going Green With The Goose

February 17, 2008

The Sabres have become the latest professional hockey team to make a Go Green Initiative. The “Blue and Gold Make Green” program (clever name, I admit) includes several different initiatives that both fans and players can take to make their world a little more green. Seventeen Sabres players have signed up with the NHLPA Carbon Credit Challenge, and Goose is going to be filming a PSA regarding the initiative.

If you go to Sabres.com, there’s a list of some initial steps we all can take to save our planet. I already partake in two of them: my light bulbs have already been changed to the fluorescent kind and I currently recycle my paper, cans and bottles. (Which reminds me, empty recycle bin under desk at work). Also, Sabres.com has the opportunity for us all to register for a free green team window cling. (Free stuff! Free stuff!)

On a hockey related note, I’m excited that Goose is coming more and more to the forefront of the team’s PR efforts. It has to be a good sign in his RFA year. They wouldn’t make him the face of this new initiative, and make him the poster boy of the Kids Escaping Drugs campaign if they were going to trade him or not re-sign him at the end of this year.

Updated to add the following video link:

Recycled Paper Saves Trees

One comment

  1. Anne and I went to the game (I don’t want to talk about it) and when we saw Goose awkwardly holding a can up to his head, we could not stop laughing. Thank you Goose, for making recycling fun and funny.

    Also, thanks for the tip on Laux–I so bought myself a Roy shirt. Not that it did any good at the game yesterday…



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

