h1

Everything But The Game

March 21, 2008

Since I’m not on speaking terms with the lot of them after tonight’s game, this post is going to be slightly random.

- I really liked the idea behind the feature during the 2nd intermission about the bracelets the Sabres wore to support Camp Good Days. The little girl’s story was inspirational, and Goose was clearly passionate about the subject, but there seriously had to be a better way to frame the shot of Goose holding his bracelet. As much as I like Goose, I did not need to see an extended close up shot of his groinal area. TMI! TMI!

On an aside, its 1038pm. I checked the Sabres auction site to see what the bracelets are going for. The auction for them opened at 7pm. Crunchy’s bracelet is already up to $100. I’m stunned.

- I’ve been getting some pretty wacky search terms lately. In addition to the usual “mvp hockey wives” queiries, I’ve also received:

  • “ryan getzlaf going bald” (your guess is as good as mine)
  • “paul gaustad favorite food” (bet its not foie gras)
  • “ed kilgore fetish” (AAAAAAAHHH! Brain Bleach, please!)
  • “canuck players wives” (all lovely women, I’m sure)
  • “crossbar calling games” (I didn’t know there were games involved with crossbars)

- Look who’s back!

Welcome back, Teppo! Glad to see you on skates again, and all smiley. I’m sure you’ll be happier when you’re cleared to play in a game and when you’re getting paid again.

- Timmy’s toast for the remainder of the season. Monday’s surgery will put the tin man on the shelf until the beginning of next season. I’m glad to see that its getting fixed, because it sounds like he was in a considerable amount of pain, and the “will he play / won’t he play” each night was a bit of a distraction for the rest of the team. But at the same time, reports of him allegedly being out on the town partying it up while he was on the injured list probably didn’t help things either. Hopefully, the surgery will be successful, and the tin man will return all bright and shiny and new for the start of next season.

- SI did an informal poll of MLB, NHL and NBA athletes regarding their choice for president this year. The poll was limited to American citizens that are registered to vote, which narrowed the pool considerably. All athletes that answered were granted anonymity in regards to their answers. What I thought was interesting was that the vast majority of NHL players that answered the poll were for McCain. One of the players made the comment that his wife said he needed to vote for McCain, because he’s a fiscal conservative, and look what tax bracket they’re in. (That’s an “oh dear”, on so many levels.) Only one NHL player was for Clinton. After reading some of the comments all the athletes provided, its just another reminder that athletes are people like you and me, concerned about taxes, healthcare, the war, etc.

SI has also placed every single one of their issues online. Searching through the issues for articles about some of my favorite athletes, I found the following tidbit about Ryan Miller:

Standing bare-chested in the dressing room and wearing only a pair of padded hockey pants held up by suspenders, he calls to mind, in the words of Spartans assistant athletic director John Lewandowski, “a man preparing to go over Niagara Falls in a barrel.” His teammates have dubbed him Quadzilla, a sarcastic reference to the less-than-formidable musculature in his legs.

Oh, Crunchy. I wouldn’t blame you if you decided to go over the Falls in a barrel after tonight’s game.

- I about fell off my chair when I saw this at work today:

Humorous Pictures

Have a great Easter weekend, everyone. And if you don’t celebrate Easter, have a great weekend.

4 comments

  1. I love that picture of Teppo! Is he on a haircut strike until he gets paid again?


  2. Ok, I seriously wanted to cry when I saw that clip on the little girl! Just when I am hating on them, they go and do that. ARGH STOP TOYING WITH MY EMOTIONS SABRES!!

    and also I am officially jealous of your search results. How is it I can have 50,000,000 variations of “derek roy love life” and you hilariously get RYAN GETZLAF BALD??!!! Pretty much the greatest search of all time, is all.


  3. I actually saw that picture yesterday when I was writing my post!!! Unfortunately, I just couldn’t find a way to incorporate strippers into hockey. I was hoping Buffalo would beat Toronto so I could add this one peep with his head cut off. It was three peeps standing over a dead peep victoriously. I was all over it. However, we lost. Boo. Then again, it might have been a little too brutal…?

    And about Getzlaf, he’s only 22! Poor balding hottie.


  4. Oh… and I found the ice cream at Tops!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

