h1

Playing for Their Country

April 7, 2008

Paul Hamilton’s locker cleanout day notes included the following gems:

- Gaustad and Pominville will play for Team USA in the World Championships. Miller hasn’t decided if he will play yet. I’m a little surprised by the Pommerdoodle choice. By playing for Team USA this year, Pommers effectively casts his lot with Team USA for 2010, instead of Canada, which is what most Sabres fans identify him with. And can we please HONK for the Goose? The guy had a career year. I’m glad to see him rewarded with a spot. I’m not surprised about Miller’s non-decision decision. I think he needs a rest, and time to deal with a lot of off-season shit, but at the same time, it’s playing for your country. He’s going to be damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t.

- Hecht turned down an opportunity to play for Germany. He’s having surgery on his wrist, which has been injured since January. So, how many of us knew Yo-Yo was injured. He wasn’t running around in the media complaining about his owie, doing interviews wrapped in heating pads…TIMMY. The fact that no one outside the room knew about it helped, in my opinion, solidify his position on the team as a leader.

- Roy-Z will play for Canada, Kotalik for the Czech Republic and Vanek for Austria.

- Teppo and Max haven’t decided whether they will play for Finland and Russia respectively.

- Hank told Sweden to buzz off. He wants to spend this offseason training, something he hasn’t been able to do for the past two seasons due to injuries.

14 comments

  1. Sekera will be playing for Slovakia as well.

    Meanwhile, Vanek playing in the Division I World Championships against teams like South Korea and Great Britain has the potential to be entertaining. :)

    I’m not really all that surprised by Pominville deciding to play for the US. He’s so much more likely to make the US Olympic team–I’d be surprised if he didn’t make it whereas he’s a total longshot for the Canadian team. It is kind of funny though because I never think of him as anything other than French Canadian.

    I can’t believe Hecht was hurt for like 3 months of the season and still played (so well too) without ever mentioning it. That’s hardcore.


  2. Vanek is so far and away the best Austrian hockey player its basically not fair. He’ll probably have like 137 goals in 10 games. It’ll be totally awesome. I feel the same way about Pommer and Team USA, there just flat out aren’t as many American born players to choose from as there are Canadian. I’m pumped to cheer against Roysie, is that wrong? Hahaha. I don’t want him to get hurt or anything (duh) but it’ll be fun to goodnaturedly cheer against other Sabres.


  3. I’ve never watched the World Championships. Are they on TV somewhere?

    I’m glad Sweden was interested in Hank playing considering that whole international ban in his past but I’m also glad he’s going to take the off-season to train instead.

    I’m tickled Roy-Z and Goose are playing for their teams.

    And Yo-Yo’s a real man. What else can you say about him?

    I hope Ryan takes the summer off from hockey but I can see how it would be a very, very tough choice especially for someone who’s been pretty gung-ho in the past about playing for USA Hockey.


  4. I have no idea if the WC’s are on TV in the States. Since they’re being played in Canada this year, I’m assuming TSN and maybe CBC will have coverage. I guess we’ll just have to stay tuned or become experts at finding internet coverage.

    According to the News this morning, Yo-Yo’s injury was caused by a collision with Kalinin. Somehow, that fits with how this season has gone.


  5. The Division IA championships are next week and feature, as far as I know, only Vanek as far as NHL players go. So I wouldn’t expect them to really get any coverage. You’ll be able to get scores and such at IIHF.com though.

    The Top Division championships aren’t until May and go until the 18th so maybe those will get some TV coverage given that they’re in Canada and, I think, starting a bit later than usual which might mean a few more NHLers participating. Fingers crossed!

    As a side note, this “B” pool and “A” pool stuff the Buffalo News is talking about is confusing seeing as that’s not what the IIHF calls them. :|


  6. According to the News this morning, Yo-Yo’s injury was caused by a collision with Kalinin. Somehow, that fits with how this season has gone.

    HA.

    I don’t really enjoy when things like that happen but its usually good for a *headdesk* and a chuckle…if everything’s ok and it’s not your team, lol. Chara broke Kobasew’s leg in practice a few weeks back. Ray Emery had more than a few fights with teammates this season and didn’t Goose almost decapitate Kotalik with a shot that went off of a goal post in warmups or something?

    BTW, I enjoy the new layout. It’s always fun to revamp things, makes it feel newer and fun.


  7. New reader coming over to say hi!!

    I love that you pointed out just how tough Yo-Yo truly is to battle such an injury while still having a career year. It shows real character that he simply went about his business and scored amazing goals from freakish angles while fighting through pain. Just another reason I’m glad we have him locked up for a while.

    And don’t you just love that Goose and Pommerdoodle can’t seem to do anything without each other? I guess roomie-love is stronger than Canadian ties for Pommers!


  8. Dude, Yo-Yo. What can I say? I totally love that guy.

    Rad new layout, Amy!


  9. I love Yo-Yo even more. No wonder he always looked angry. I call him “The Mad German”.

    I love the new layout too. Good job!

    I’m also not surprised that Pommer choose Team USA, for the same reasons that have already been stated. He can be a major contributor to Team USA in the Olympics instead of maybe making the taxi squad for Team Canada. And he wants to play for his mommy! All together now… awwwwwwwwwwww. Give the man a cookie! Good boys deserve cookies, bad boys deserve groin problems. Yeah, I’m looking at you, Max.


  10. Katie, thanks for stopping by!

    I’m envisioning Goose and Pommerdoodle being really confused if they’re broken up as roomies at Team USA training camp.

    I can also see Goose, Stafford, Pommers and Lee Stempniak having a Buffalo-related committee meeting.


  11. I can also see Goose, Stafford, Pommers and Lee Stempniak having a Buffalo-related committee meeting.

    “So, Lee, where are the best girls? You’ve lived there longer than us.”

    “West Seneca, you say? Why, a lovely girl named Amanda lives there! We know her! We must remember to send her flowers since she supports us even when we suck!”

    Oh, wait, that was just the dream I had the other day. Never mind……………


  12. I don’t know if I could handle finding out that Pommer and Goose were split up; I can’t imagine how they would feel! I could see them being like “but we’ve been together for six years! This is the longest relationship I’ve ever had!”

    And Amanda, West Seneca is so the best place to find girls – we’re irresistable! I wish Lee would pass that message along…


  13. “I don’t know if I could handle finding out that Pommer and Goose were split up; I can’t imagine how they would feel!”

    Waaayyy worse than when Lindy broke up Toni and Hank, for sure.


  14. I’m envisioning Goose and Pommerdoodle being really confused if they’re
    broken up as roomies at Team USA training camp.

    They’ll probably split them up in some attempt at camaraderie, but we all know somehow Goose and Pommer will do tradsies with their other teammates and end up back together. I’ve started the rumor that Drew Stafford is a sleep-snuggler (as opposed to sleep-walker) so whoever gets Staffy better enjoy some man on man snuggle time.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

