h1

I Love Marty

May 22, 2008

While perusing a message board that rhymes with BlabresBlans dot com, I found this article about Danny maybe selling Philly to Soupy.

San Jose’s Brian Campbell will be the best free agent out there on July 1. Flyers center Danny Briere is close to Campbell and may be asked to act as a recruiter, in the same way goalie Marty Biron recruited Briere last summer.

“I will definitely ask him, if it comes to that, and give him info just like Marty did for me,” Briere said. “As far as speed and rushing the puck up the ice, he is one of the best in the league. There’s no doubt about that. You look at where the league is going, you see more and more defensemen like him, guys who can move the puck and skate well.”

Campbell and Biron are not close friends. Biron didn’t think Campbell took the game seriously when they were teammates in Buffalo.

“Brian is a single guy and likes to have fun,” Briere said. “But I think he takes the game seriously. To get to where you are, you need to be. I don’t think it’s an issue.”

I know Marty wasn’t directly quoted, but his thoughts do have a lot of weight, since he spent so many years in the B-lo with Soupy. This comment does tie a lot of things from the local rumor mill together. Briere’s comments sound a lot like damage control, in my lowly opinion.

3 comments

  1. I knew there was a reason I always loved Marty.


  2. Marty Biron: Tellin’ it like it is since 1977. Oh LORD, think of the red hair with Flyers orange!?!?! Whoa. No way.


  3. Actually Anne, it might match pretty well and would give me one more reason to dislike the Flyers.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

