h1

Lazy Holiday My Ass

July 4, 2008

So Darcy proved that he’s not just sitting back on his porch eating creamsicles and watching fireworks on this Independence Day. In two separate trades, he sent Bernier to Vancouver for two draft picks and acquired Craig Rivet from San Jose for two draft picks.

Thank you for playing with the Sabres, Big Bear. Here’s your t-shirt. Although, I’m glad I read this quote from Big Bear after I heard about the trade:

When I got the call I was shocked,” Bernier said during a telephone conference call while still on the golf course. “Right now the only thing I am thinking about is getting in shape and having a chance to improve myself with the Vancouver Canucks.

He’s thinking about “getting in shape?” Goose is being a lean, mean, ab-workout machine, and Big Bear is just thinking about getting in shape? Oy.

About the only thing I know of Rivet was his tendency to acquire penalty minutes while a member of the Mother Puckers fantasy team last year.

- Is anyone else finding the ongoing sniping between Brian Burke and Kevin Lowe completely hilarious? Lowe finally fired back and called Burke a moron and an attention hog. I’m so glad we have a nice, calm GM like Darcy. Who I’m sure would like to tell Kevin Lowe where to stick it, but is too much of gentleman to do so.

3 comments

  1. I’m totally into this. Hooray! Big Bear was not the right guy for us, and now we have a veteran defenseman locked up for THREE years!


  2. He’s thinking about “getting in shape?” Goose is being a lean, mean, ab-workout machine, and Big Bear is just thinking about getting in shape? Oy.

    That quote had me shaking my head as well, Amy. I was hoping those rumors of Big Bear not being in the greatest shape were false, but I guess his work ethic is not as fierce as Goose’s (but then again, whose is?).


  3. That’s just another example proving that everyone can’t be a Goose.

    I’m excited about Rivet. I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about him, likes to play tough and hit hard. Nothing against Big Bear, but after his first game with Buffalo, what did he do? Nothing I can remember.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

