h1

He’s Just Happy To Be Here

July 18, 2008

In our continuing attempt to digest the fact that the Sabres signed someone – Ryan Miller – to a pretty significant long term deal, we here at SOTC listened to Miller’s interview with Howard Simon this afternoon.

He’s happy to be a Sabre, and was encouraged to sign with the team when he saw Gaustad get signed to an extension. (I do want to point out that Ryan was practically gushing over Gaustad, pointing out that Goose is growing into quite the player and quite the active guy in the community.) Miller also specifically said that in his heart he wanted to be in Buffalo. He could’ve tried out the free agent market, but what good would that have done anyone? The contract situation would have been a distraction during the season, and he didn’t want to deal with that. (Gee, who the hell does that sound like, Soupy? Then again, I do think that Ryan could have potentially given Soupy a run for his money in the “can’t play hockey and negotiate a contract at the same time” competition.)

He freely recognizes that his contract will give the media something to talk about when he has an off night, but hopes that doesn’t happen too often next season. I did like his point of view about how he learned from Drury and some of the other veterans about how stepping up to give an interview in the locker room does take some of the heat off the other guys. Drury and Briere did it for him, and now he’s stepping up and doing it. He reinforced that in his interviews he’s always honest with the press. Between Miller’s blunt honesty and Pomminville’s earnest enthusiasm, the media should always get a good quote.

He was briefly distracted from the interview when the pizza delivery arrived for the groomsmen’s lunch. (Younger brother Drew is getting married this weekend, and Ryan is the best man.)

He feels comfortable in Buffalo, that he can go to the grocery store, be recognized and yet be left alone to do his thing while shopping. Just speaking from the past experience at seeing a Sabre in the grocery store, I’d be too tongue tied to say much of anything other than “hi” to a Sabre.

Its, dare I say it, refreshing to have some optimism coming out of the media and the players. Last summer, the entire team turned into a bunch of kicked puppies after the co-captains left town. When your coach admits that it took a month for him to get over the loss of them, you know that all was not right with the team. I think the team was so busy trying to justify that they could survive without Briere and Drury that they beat themselves while doing it.

And while I haven’t listed to the full Darcy interview, reading a summary of it gives me a ton of hope. They’ve had productive talks with Teppo(!) and want him back in some capacity. If Teppo comes back, his presence combined with Rivet’s would give the team a very strong veteran presence on the blue line.

All in all, not a bad day, eh?

5 comments

  1. I thought Darcy was reeeeally interesting this afternoon on WGR. He basically said they want Teppo back and he sounds like he’s still trying to unload Max. I’m so used to him sounding like a sad sack that “chipper” Darcy threw me for a loop!


  2. Just speaking from the past experience at seeing a Sabre in the grocery store, I’d be too tongue tied to say much of anything other than “hi” to a Sabre.

    I hear ya. I’ve seen Goose at Wegman’s like 34687987 times and I still get all flustered when I say “excuse me” if I have to walk past him. I am the coolest person in the world.

    Happy happy day!!! Big Bear who?


  3. We can still trade Max for some pucks, skate laces and gatorade bottles. That’s a deal that most fans wouldn’t object to, I don’t think.


  4. I listened to Ryan’s interview just now, and from his adorable love of Wegman’s to his pizza-induced distraction, it really made me happy. I’m just glad to know that I seem to be getting good at identifying those players that really love it here. First Goose, then Ryan, and I really think Pommer wants to stick around his BFFs for a long time, too.

    (I do want to point out that Ryan was practically gushing over Gaustad, pointing out that Goose is growing into quite the player and quite the active guy in the community.)

    As a fellow Goose-lover, this was, of course, the best part of the interview in my opinion. It’s good to know his fellow Sabres appreciate the wonder that is Goose as well!


  5. Its, dare I say it, refreshing to have some optimism coming out of the media and the players.

    Amen! It’s a much better feeling to have and to see it coming from other people too.

    Not a bad day at all. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

