h1

That’s Not Something You Read In Rocks for Jocks

July 26, 2008

Perusing the Buffalo News this morning, I cam across this little tidbit about Paul Posluszny. He apparently does not have a television in his dorm room at camp, and the story picks up from there:

“I didn’t bring one last year,” Posluszny said. “Last year I was just so nervous about everything I didn’t have time to watch TV. So this year I said that’s fine, I don’t need one. I’ll catch the news in the morning, and I can keep myself busy without it.”

Posluszny owns a computer but he doesn’t have a laptop, so he doesn’t have that for a diversion at camp, either. He’s resorting to old-fashioned media to get away from football; he’s reading a book.

“I’m in the middle of a pretty good book right now, ‘Guns, Germs and Steel.’ It’s about why certain cultures, particularly the Europeans,developed the way they did,” he said.

The book, by Jared Diamond, won a Pulitzer Prize in 1998.

That’s not something you read – or even gain an interest in – in the simple classes that most collegiate athletes are shunted into. Seriously though, how many collegiate athletes are involved in athletic training / physical education / exercise science / general studies programs? I realize that those programs are the ones that usually co-exist the most peacefully with an athlete’s schedule, but what happens when they enter the real world (either instead of or after a professional career)? A physical education degree will only get you so far.

I like that Poz has a finance degree and that he graduated a semester early. I like that Crunchy appears to have gone back to school to finish his business degree (An internet search shows him with a 2005 graduation date. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. I just like that he’s older than me, but graduated two years after me.)

And that’s not where I thought this entry would go at all. :)

4 comments

  1. I’ve heard Gerbe mention that he wants to finish his degree in… uhhh communications? I don’t remember what its in, but he expressed a desire to finish his degree which I thought was really cool. Tim Kennedy’s said the same thing, I remember reading when he was signed that he was like “This is what I want to do after hockey.” I enjoy forward thinking lads.


  2. I was just writing about this little bit about Poz on my blog. He seems like a smart cookie. I definitely like that.


  3. As someone who works part time at a library, the mere fact that Poz opened a book made me smile. Then I saw what it was about, and I love that he’s actually reading something worthwhile.


  4. Hmmm…. Paul is both intelligent and sexy a very good combination. Hes a brillant handsome boy.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

