h1

Vogue: Write A List

July 27, 2008

I’m hopping aboard the bloggerly list-making bandwagon. Don’t worry, I brought orange slices for everyone. This is what I’m thinking about today.

1. Someone should tell Shia LeBeouf that being arrested for DUI (and hurting his little self in the process) isn’t a good thing. Most people were willing to overlook that “loitering outside a Walgreens” thing, but a DUI isn’t going to be that easy to overcome. I remember when he was just the sweet kid on “Even Stevens” (a Canisius 2002 O-Staff fave). Now he’s having run-ins with the law. Tsk. Tsk, Shia.

2. I’m watching the Brickyard 400 NASCAR race. Its boring as all hell, but there’s nothing else on the TV right now. I can say that if I was a person who paid good, hard earned money to sit in the stands for this fiasco of a race, I’d be demanding my money back. Due to excessive tire wear problems that can cause accidents, NASCAR is throwing what they call “competition yellows.” These caution periods (the yellow flag at a racetrack means caution, or “slow down you idiots”) allow the cars to come into the pits and change tires so that no one will be running on excessively worn tires. I get that its for safety purposes, but watching 10-15 lap segments during which no one is really racing hard because they’re worried that too much hard racing will cause their tires to go to hell, doesn’t really make for exciting racing. And when race tickets average $100 (or more), its a hell of a costly investment (when you factor in hotel, gas, food, etc) to watch 10-lap parades.

3. I started watching “Arrested Development” on Hulu yesterday. I like it. That is all.

4. I’m amused that so many of us bloggers (myself included) are amused at the type of book that Poz is reading. This says the girl who just finished “Lean Mean Thirteen” by Janet Evanovich.

5. Ever since I watched the video of “My Rifle, My Pony, and Me” on YouTube, I’ve had that song stuck in my head. It also brought me back to my Girl Scout days, as that was one of the songs we used to sing at camp. Only it was called “Purple Light,” since a song with rifles and ponies in the title might not have been the best thing for young, impressionable girls to sing.

6. The Erie County Fair guide was in today’s paper. Even though the same things appear at the fair every year, I still geek out over them. I have to see the Racing Pigs, visit the Mooternity Ward (and I want to note that Firefox recognizes Mooternity as a word), have some BBQ and a lime fizz, visit the agriculture buildings and look at all the produce and maybe visit the slots. Its a good way to spend a day for a reasonably small amount of money, and you never know what you’re going to see.

7. I’m totally pissed that I read this spoilery, spoilery article on Entertainment Weekly’s site about the Heroes season premiere. It gave away a lot, but still left a lot unanswered. I want it to be September already, damn it.

Mommy, I want one.

2 comments

  1. You can have a Milo if I can get an Adrian. Then we’ll have a matching set!

    Ever since I watched the video of “My Rifle, My Pony, and Me” on YouTube, I’ve had that song stuck in my head.

    There are worse things :-D

    Have you watched “Bringing Up Buster” yet? I think that’s my favorite episode of Arrested Development.


  2. I love Heroes.

    And I agree!!! What happened to the annoying but still lovable Shia from Even Stevens? I miss him.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

