h1

Please Let YouTube or Sportscenter Capture This

September 2, 2008

- Brian Campbell is scheduled to throw out the first pitch at tonight’s Cubs game. In addition, the Soupster will lead the crowd in singing “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.” Hopefully, he won’t slip and call it the fucking stupid ballgame.

- Since it is nearing hockey season, it is the perfect time to start stocking up on knitting supplies. (I’ll give y’all a few minutes to make the connection between hockey and knitting. Let me know when you’re done).

Anyway, I knit while watching hockey games. I don’t do complicated or fancy things, its just something to keep my hands occupied and relax myself during stressful situations. On the other hand, it might not be a good thing to have a pointy implement in my hand while watching hockey games, especially if the boys end up playing similarly to the way they played last year.

Here are the colors I’m going to be working with this season.

I’m not a fan of how the blue turned out in this photo, since it looks almost like a royal blue instead of the navy blue that it actually is. I want to get the piece started and well along before hockey season starts.

- Also, after reading this release on nhl.com, I wonder why Miller is the Masked Man and DP is just a goalie? The masked man moniker makes Miller sound like either a superhero or a professional wrestler.

7 comments

  1. That’s a beautiful green you chose. You should knit some nice scarves in blue and gold! I wanted to buy this blue and gold striped cardigan (the colors perfectly matched the Sabres colors), but when I went to go order it, that color scheme wasn’t available. I e-mailed the website about it and they said they didn’t make the cardigan in that color scheme anymore. I was so disappointed!


  2. The masked man moniker makes Miller sound like either a superhero or a professional wrestler.

    DUHHH it’s because he is one or both. Probably both. He’s a busy guy. I always wanted to learn how to knit. one of my roommates in college knitted like crazy and I always wanted to learn but I don’t have the patience. Good luck with your projects!!


  3. The masked man moniker makes Miller sound like either a superhero or a professional wrestler.

    Just trying to picture him as a professional wrestler is hilarious.

    I love knitting, but don’t have a ton of time to do it anymore. We’ll have to see the finished products later on!


  4. bbc, I thought about blue and gold, but the gold that the yarn manufacturer makes was a really, really pale gold (almost like the color of straw), rather than the bright vivid gold that I would need. Total bummer when I saw that at the craft store.

    Mary, Crunchy as a wrestler could be kind of funny. He’d probably work off of the understanding that he’d need to work quickly before one of the big guys snapped him in two.


  5. Crunchy would be such an adorably cranky wrestler! :D

    Those are lovely colors you chose for your knitting, Amy! What are you making with them? I’m with you, that hockey just cries out for some kind of handicraft. I actually think knitting is the best choice, because you don’t really have to look at it that much. While I’m something of a lapsed knitter in favor of cross stitch, I’d be lying if I said cross stitch was as good for letting you focus as much on the game. Do you end up with tension issues during close games? I know I always ended up knitting much tighter during playoff OTs.


  6. Schnookie, I just kind of cast on a bunch of stitches onto a circular needle and work in garter stitch the entire time. When one color runs out, the next one gets added on. I did the same thing last season and ended up with a purple and grey throw.

    I don’t trust myself to do anything that requires counting stitches while watching hockey games. You’d probably hear a lot of “one-two-fuck” coming out of my living room if I did that. My tension isn’t too bad, I just have to tell myself to relax while knitting during games.


  7. While I’m something of a lapsed knitter in favor of cross stitch, I’d be lying if I said cross stitch was as good for letting you focus as much on the game.

    In fact, cross stitch sucks for letting you focus on the game. Particularly if you’re watching a game with bad broadcasters!

    Amy, I love the colors you picked! I think a blue and green throw sounds fantastic!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

