h1

An Overgrown Boy Scout

November 11, 2008

- I really think that Paul Gaustad is an overgrown Boy Scout. Yesterday, Paille revealed that Gaustad was the player he learned the most from on the team. Now Clarke MacArthur is reporting that Gaustad has been staying after practice to work with him on face off skills. Based on the past two days, I now fully expect to see Goose at the intersection of Elmwood and Bidwell helping little old ladies cross the street.

- I think I’m now deaf after attempting to watch today’s Sabres TV interviews. I like that the interviews are posted so soon after practice ends, and I like that we’re getting a taste of how loud and chaotic the locker room can be, but sweet merciful Staffy, I could barely hear the questions that Robin Adams was posing to Stafford, nor could I hear a couple of his responses.

But towards the end, there was kind of a funny question put forth to Stafford. He was asked if he was going to hang out with Jay McKee tonight while Jay is in town for tomorrow night’s game. As Staffy rightfully (and kind of snarkily) pointed out, he never played on the same team as Jay. You know why? Staffy was in psychology class at the time! He was still a student at UND for Pete’s sake. If I knew that question sounded off, and I’m just a humble blogger, what would make a reporter think it sounded good?

But back to my original point, the Sabres could just turn down the background noise on the daily Sabres TV videos, and all will be right with the world. I also want to know who put on the female singer that’s heard at the end of Staffy’s interview. It doesn’t really scream “locker room” to me.

- Sounds like Miller and the boys had a slight ephiphany regarding last season:

“For some, I think we didn’t buy into what Lindy was preaching every night,” Miller said. “His approach to the game works. Play as a team, keep it simple, be responsible, be accountable, you find out it works. We knew coming into this year we had to get back to that kind of game.”

You mean “the system” works? And Lindy knows what he’s talking about? That he’s not just yelling and screaming for his health? Wow! Who’d a thunk it?

And in the same article, this quote…

“I’m happy here and I felt this was a good place for me and I had been treated well here and felt I fit in well here, with the organization and with the guys and in the community,” Miller said. “Just because you can do something doesn’t mean you should. I wanted to be here and I didn’t want to go anywhere else, so I took the contract when it was offered to me.”

Thank you, Crunchy, for putting it out in the NATIONAL MEDIA that you didn’t want to go play for Detroit and you like the Sabres organization, the guys and the city. The last part is especially important. As Buffalonians, we just want to be loved. That’s all. Nothing more, nothing less.



7 comments

  1. I now fully expect to see Goose at the intersection of Elmwood and Bidwell helping little old ladies cross the street.
    I can totally see it….he’d try and console that crazy lady who’s always shouting at random objects in the street. Paul Gaustad, trying to make everything right in the world!

    And it’s been several months since Miller signed his new contract extension, but every time he mentions how he really did want to stay here it makes me all happy. So many players say how they like where they are but then they run off where they’ll get the most money. I always said Miller was different and everyone thought I was nuts, but….alas. He’s here it warms my heart. :’)


  2. I imagine Paul Gaustad as a jouster fighting for the honor of the fair maiden, all noble and upstanding on the back of his white steed, but I think boy scout works just as well.


  3. As Buffalonians, we just want to be loved. That’s all. Nothing more, nothing less.

    A hearty amen to THAT.

    And, Caroline, I don’t know why no one agreed with that, to be honest. I thought everybody was nuts. I mean. He turned down his right to arbitration, back when he was an RFA. Seriously.


  4. Based on the past two days, I now fully expect to see Goose at the intersection of Elmwood and Bidwell helping little old ladies cross the street.

    Hee . . . and then they take advantage of him by having him walk them down the block and across the next street as well. Little old ladies can be very manipulative.


  5. He turned down his right to arbitration, back when he was an RFA. Seriously.
    I know! I always thought about that when everyone was saying, “Miller is as good as gone.” I’m surprised I didn’t develop a stomach ulcer over that crap. I was so nervous about Miller re-signing. I mean, deep down I knew he’d sign, but with pratically everyone and their mother around me saying that he was packing his bags for Detroit…well, it made me nervous.


  6. I imagine Paul Gaustad as a jouster fighting for the honor of the fair maiden, all noble and upstanding on the back of his white steed

    That’s a nice image. But with the way the Sabres and freak injuries are linked, he’d probably fall off the horse or put someone’s eye out with the jousting stick.

    and then they take advantage of him by having him walk them down the block and across the next street as well.

    Hee. And then they would ask for accompaniment as they did their shopping at the Elmwood Farmers Market. Fresh produce is very heavy for little old ladies to carry, you know.


  7. keep in mind most fair knightly maidens are ususally being scoped out be the evil king ( see Henry VIII in the tudors ) knowing the goose – he’d get his head chopped off for messing with the kings unrequited love



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

