h1

Sabres for Sale?!

December 8, 2008

And not in the good way like at a bachelor auction or other charitable fundraiser that would allow each of us to take home our very own Sabre.

WGR is reporting that the Sabres are for sale.

Is Mr. G. looking to dump the team now that he’s made a profit on them?

Is Balsille the interested buyer?

Should Buffalo commence panicking? (I can answer this one. The answer is yes. Have you ever met a Buffalonian that doesn’t go from Zero to Panic in less than 3.2 seconds?)

11 comments

  1. Literally, as soon as I saw the title, I was panicking.


  2. Ugh I really have so much to do this week and now I’ll be spending too much time thinking about this situation. Oy. I hate this annual panic.


  3. Ugh…just ugh…this is the last thing I needed to read after that disgusting display in Toronto yesterday by the Bills.

    Now I have to worry about the Sabres being sold and moved in the dead of night to another city? Man…


  4. Can we take Quinn’s word for what it is?

    “We are not in negotiations to sell the team and as we have stated in the past, we will never entertain discussions to move the team out of Buffalo, NY.”

    This comes from another article over at WGR.

    http://www.wgr550.com/Quinn–Sabres-not-for-sale/3453048


  5. *with unimaginable shrillness*

    I CAN NOT HANDLE THIS! ALL I WANT IS TO THINK ABOUT HOW MUCH I HATE THE SABRES IN PEACE! I CAN NOT HANDLE THIS! I CAN NOT HANDLE THIS!


  6. I think the correct answer to, “should Buffalo commence panicking,” is “no.” “Yes,” is the answer to “will Buffalo commence panicking. ;)

    Two reasons not to panic:

    1.) Ownership has said repeatedly that they wouldn’t consider selling to anyone who would move the team.

    2.) The NHL would work very hard to prevent any deal that moves a team from one of their genuinely successful hockey markets.


  7. Katebits, what’s a little shrillness amongst friends?

    Meg, you caught me on the semantics.


  8. There is absolutely no way the NHL can justify moving the Sabres while the Coyotes flounder in their much smaller Arena and much less dedicated fanbase. I’m sure there are dedicated Coyotes fanbase but there are 20 Sabres fans for each ‘Yotes fan. I choose to believe Quinn-dogg because it makes me able to continue to work on my finals in peace.


  9. Anne, I think I read that the most relocatable team right now was the Thrashers. They lease the arena and their attendance is less than stellar on most nights. Though it does sound like the Coyotes may be giving them a run for their money in the floundering department.


  10. This whole Sabre thing is getting ridiculous.
    I’m beginning to feel like a Toronto Maple Leafs fan.


  11. I prefer to think of the Sabres being for sale as a bachelor auction. It makes me happy and helps me sleep at night. I think I’d have to buy 2 of them.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

