h1

From the “No Shit, Sherlock” Files

April 17, 2009

A Tweet just came through from Sabres.com that Golisano and Quinn have announced that Lindy Ruff and Darcy Regier will return in their current roles next season. I’m not really that surprised. Lindy has one year left on his contract and Darcy has two. If one or both were fired, that would mean that Golisano would have to pay them the remainder of their contracts. Mr. G hasn’t become a billionnaire by paying people to sit on their derrieres and do nothing. I’m sure that each will be allowed to ride out their contracts and then further conversations will be held, I’m sure. Maybe after this current deal Lindy will move on to another team, but for now, he’s still ours. God love him.

I’m sure this will help the players maintain some level of consistency for next year. And I don’t mean maintaining a level of consistent apathy, that’s for sure. If they go for three consecutive seasons without making the playoffs, getting rid of Lindy and Darcy will be the least of the team’s concerns. The fans and media will be out for the players if this happens.

And not that the Sabres are preparing for Max Afinogenov to leave town, but the Afinogenov jerseys were on the sales rack at the Sabres store this morning. There also was a sale on stuffed Sabretooths, and while they were adorable, I needed a stuffed Sabretooth like I needed a hole in the head. I did leave the store with the team’s photo, so it wasn’t a total losing effort.

2 comments

  1. Aw man. That makes me sad to hear about the Afinogenov sweaters. I’d buy one…I’m gonna miss that crazy Russian spy/winger.


  2. I have a stuffed Sabretooth right here in my office! He sits next to a stuffed Phanatic. Needless to say, everyone comments on the Phanatic, and they all ignore ‘Tooth. Poor guy. He just doesn’t have the national recognition of the Phanatic…



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

