h1

Who Comes Up With These Ideas?

August 18, 2009

Imagine you’re a highly paid professional hockey player. You enter a photo shoot and are told to stand in a particular spot. Alright, you can manage that. Hold this stick is the next command. Still, not completely outrageous. Then, you are told to look off into the distance to your right.

All these elements are not bad when taken in isolation, but when combined with a faux glass block background and some blue lighting, this is what results.

lalalalala

The background kind of reminds me of the old elementary school picture background with the faux lasers. Everyone wanted the laser backgrounds because they were so cool. Now, when you look back at them, they’re really kind of cheesy.

Also, is that just a regular hockey stick (and not a goalie paddle) that Miller is holding? I need someone with better eyes than mine to confirm.

If you want to see more of the images from camp, go to Getty Images and search “hockey.”

And in other news, based on the photos on Puck Daddy, I kind of want a USA Olympic Hockey Sweater. (The ones that look like the retro 1980 sweaters) They look neat, but I really would want to see one in person to judge the quality before making a commitment of that dollar amount. I mean, it looks like I will need something to replace my Stafford sweater unless something gets done with him in the next couple of weeks.

8 comments

  1. I’m pretty sure that photo was taken outside of the secretary’s office on the first floor of my work building.


  2. No, no, that was taken in the master bathroom in our old house in Arizona!


  3. I too have been thinking about how my Stafford jersey could become obsolete soon. I have the worst luck with these things.


  4. […] Randomness | Leave a Comment As I was perusing the blogosphere this afternoon, I came across this post that Amy wrote.  Now, I always enjoy reading what Amy has to say and this was no exception. […]


  5. I was getting a decidedly Miami Vice-ish vibe from the block glass and blue light.

    And I really hate that a jersey could be obsolete because player / agent / management are being blockheads.


  6. Affirmative. That is just a plain old stick and not a goalie paddle. I was never allowed to have the faux laser background because my mom said it was stupid. I wonder if Ryan Miller is wearing his LA Gear sneakers to this shoot?


  7. I wasn’t allowed to have the faux laser background either, mainly because my mother thought it was ridiculous to have to pay extra for it.


  8. Quick has a goalie stick… hmmmm.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

