h1

Uh Huh, This is Costing Me How Much?

August 21, 2010

Most of this post was written while sitting for 5.5 hours in the waiting room at Transitowne, waiting for Roy the Car to get fixed. (If only it was that easy to fix my car’s namesake, LOL.)

- If you saw the article concerning Buffalo’s prep for the world juniors in the hard copy of today’s paper, you would have noticed in the accompanying image that there were large yellow dots on the floor of the Sabres locker room. (For some reason the image is not in the online edition.) Is management expecting a twister game to break out pregame? (“Right foot yellow! Left hand yellow! Right hand errr yellow!”) Or are they meant to give the players something to chuckle about as they watch the media try and avoid stepping on the yellow dots in the middle of the floor during the post game media ruckus? Of course, watch them be something as innocuous as patches over freshly sewn carpet, or something like that.

- Kudos to the Bisons for getting involved with the WJC fun downtown and wanting to host a winter wonderland at Coca Cola Field in between hockey games. What a nice diversion and a way to keep people downtown.

- I was watching PTI yesterday and Dan LeBatard was talking about the Bills in Toronto, and how he can’t say anything bad about the city of Buffalo because every time he does, his inbox fills up. Is PTI really that popular amongst Buffalonians / Bills fans that he gets that much “hate” mail? Poor little LeBatard . And speaking of PTI, where the heck have TK and Willybuns been lately? It seems like they have been on vacation forever. I enjoy LeBatard, but Bob Ryan is a little too dry for my tastes. But then again, as long as Reali is there, it’s all good.

- I finished reading Ken Dryden’s “The Game” while at the dealership. If you haven’t read this book, and you’re a hockey fan, you need to put it on your reading list. His thoughts on what makes the game of hockey great, the different roles players have on teams and the chemistry generated by having the right mix of these players is incredibly insightful. Sure, Dryden’s playing career was a bit before my time, so I was not as familiar with the great Canadiens teams as someone who is a bit older would be, but the book is still a great read nonetheless. I was particularly amused by his musings on why goalies are considered nutty and it’s not just because they’re willing to step in front of a speeding rubber disk every night.

- And finally, if this Geico commercial does not make you smile, well…

5 comments

  1. I finished reading Ken Dryden’s “The Game” while at the dealership.
    How funny… I just posted a little review on that book as well on my blog. What a gem it was!


  2. I’ve been waiting for this book to become available at the library, as there’s only one in all of the Erie County libraries. Any chance you had that one? Last time I was waiting on a hockey book, Heather from Top Shelf had it, if I remember correctly.


  3. Maybe the yellow dots are for spontaneous face-off challenges? I hope so. And hurray for the Bisons! That sounds fun.

    I love that commercial. Piggy!!!


  4. I got The Game for Christmas.. and I loved it! I tried to read it several years ago, but I think I wasn’t ready for it then. This time it just flew by. Dryden is an incredibly articulate man and his insights were spot-on and enjoyable to read.

    (and I know a guy who went to college with him. They didn’t really know each other but that is still cool!)


  5. I hadn’t seen that piggy commercial yet, but my brothers have NOT stopped talking about it (and yes, “WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! WHEE! WHEE!”ing). I love it.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

