h1

Be The Ball. Err…Puck

November 17, 2010

- Add me to the list of people blown away by Ryan Miller’s star re-enactment of Carl Spackler in Caddyshack.

Miller’s deadly accurate impersonation of Spackler shows a true love of the movie. It’s not just memorizing the lines and attempting to recreate them. It shows that he’s seen the movie eleventy billion times and can roll the lines from memory. (I can do that for a lot of West Wing episodes. I can pretty much explain what the virtue of a proportional response is, in addition to knowing that the country is stranger than it was four years ago. LOL)

I applaud ESPN for not going with the cliche move and having Miller re-enact Miracle or The Mighty Ducks or Slap Shot or The Cutting Edge.  Although I do admit that Miller as Gordon Bombay or as Doug Dorsey could be hilarious.

- As of the start of tonight’s game against the Caps, Steve Montador leads the league in plus/minus rating at a plus 13. Goose is second in the league in face off percentage. Nice to see two Sabres leading the league in something besides the growth of nose hair.

- I do not approve of Lindy’s wardrobe choices tonight. The dark green shirt & black polka dot tie coordinate. The shirt & the pinstriped jacket coordinate. The tie & jacket coordinate. However, the shirt, tie & jacket do not work together. That’s a wardrobe fail by Mr. Ruff.

- I also do not approve of the incessant horn blowing in the Washington arena. I’m glad the fans in Buffalo are better than that.

- I do approve of the new, improved & grown-up Derek Roy that has decided to play for the Sabres this season. I hope he sticks around for awhile. And I’m still waiting for the new & improved Tim Connolly to show up, but I think he took a left turn at Albuquerque, so I’m not holding my breath there.

- I do not approve of the Singing in the Rain/Umbrella mashup on last night’s Glee. Singing in the Rain is a classic song that should be left alone. What’s next, Edelweiss crossed with AC/DC?

I do, however, approve of the Guy Gleeks wearing vests & fedoras. That’s such a killer look.

- I do approve of the effort the Sabres put forth after they were down 3-0. The “old” Sabres would have just packed it in, said goodnight and proceeded to play a perfunctory 40 minutes of hockey so that they could just get out of Washington and back to Buffalo. Instead, these Sabres showed heart, effort, a scoring touch and some pretty close chances to win the game. I’m ok with the loss, because they played with fire in the final two periods. The positives did outweigh the negatives, I think.

One comment

  1. I don’t watch Glee but I rather approve of most any guy wearing a vest and a fedora. :) instant hotness points.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

