h1

Morning Musings

December 13, 2007

From the Snooze this morning…“I’ve got a fourth line that I want to mix and match,” said Ruff, who put Connolly with fourth-line wingers Daniel Paille and Mair for the opening faceoff. “I’ve been trying to get our top players more ice time. I think we’ve seen the last two games, with Roy playing more and Connolly playing more, that we’ve garnered our share of the play. In Andrew’s case, he’s going to fill in where I need him. He’s going to provide the toughness when we need it. It’s not really going to be a set line.”

Lindy, I’m confused. One of your best weapons is your ability to roll four lines. You can’t roll four lines consistently if you’re doubling up Roy-Z and Timmy because Peters is a glorified bump on a log with fighting skills. Remind me again why C-Mac is toiling away in Rochester while Peters plays an average of 3:00 a night? Bringing up C-Mac would allow you to roll four lines again.

I also have to laugh at the one Islander coach who called Gaustad a hippo. Seriously? We’re going to have to teach that coach the difference between a hippo and a goose.

Hippo.

Goose. Not the same.

Moving on, this bit from Page 2 is absolutely brilliant. I had no idea there were so many different sports cliches out there.

3 comments

  1. I’m a pretty new reader of this blog and I’m a little confused. What does Pommerdoodle mean? I know Pommer is Pominville’s nickname, but where does the doodle come from? Also, why is Miller’s nickname Crunchy?


  2. Thanks for stopping by, Amanda.

    Pommerdoodle and Crunchy were nicknames for Miller and Pomminville that the wonderful Pookie and Schnookie of Interchangeable Parts came up with. Pommerdoodle is derived from the fact that Pomminville reminded them of a labradoodle puppy, especially in the pictures where Pommers sports the poofy hair.

    Crunchy is derived from this past year’s playoffs. They believed that with full playoff beard, he looks like a guy who lives as a crunchy hermit in the woods and makes his own yougurt covered raisins.

    While Pookie and Schnookie are Devils fans first and foremost, they do have great love for the Sabres, so I do recommend that you stop over and have a look around. Their blog is one of the best out there.


  3. Ok, after checking out a picture of a labradoodle, I can see the resemblance. Miller looks like an overgrown hippie no matter whether it’s playoffs or not, but he definitely looked hermit-like toward the end of last year. I will check out Interchangeable Parts – I already read about 10 blogs, so adding another shouldn’t be a problem!



Leave a Reply

