h1

Audio Vault Round-Up

January 15, 2008

WGR’s radio vault can be like candy for a hockey fan. Today I found interviews with Goose and Lindy Ruff. There’s a Soupy interview, but I’m ignoring the Skating Tomato for the moment.

Goose covered his fight with Chris Neil during the Ottawa game including the reason he fought Neil: Neil asked him to! Apparently, in previous interactions, Neil would never want to drop the gloves with Goose. Well, this time, Neil was just pissed off enough to fight. Goose also explained some of his rationale for pulling Neil’s jersey over his head – it makes it easier to fight because Goose is so tall and has a long reach. It also plays into a player’s fear about being defenseless. A player is so worried about getting the jersey off their head that they start to panic and lose focus on the fight.

Goose feels that this type of action is not against The Code (and he says no one gave him a copy of The Code anyways). I’m of mixed feelings about the sweater pulling. Sure, it may make it easier to fight, but at the same time, it’s making a fight less fair. If two players are going to beat the snot out of each other, you at least want it to be a semi-fair fight.

He also shared some of his thoughts about the Fucking Stupid Ice Bowl. I had no idea that these guys were at the Ralph for so long that day. Goose reported that he got to the stadium at 8am, and didn’t get home until 8pm. Unlike his teammate who shall remain nameless, he had nothing but positive things to say about the game. And you know what, he said it was fun! Its good to hear that these guys – at least some of them – enjoyed the day as much as the fans did.

He also discussed how the leadership situation in the locker room flows. With the rotating captaincy, there’s a pressure on each other to keep each other accountable for what they do. Its just like high school with the peer pressure, and it almost reinforces Marty Brodeur’s comment that NHL players are nothing more than overgrown children.

And he also brought up a good point, that last year, the guys really weren’t tested. They got off to a hot start, kept the energy and momentum up and never really ran into a brick wall until they hit Ottawa in the playoffs. Its pretty spectacular that they can go a whole 82 game season and 2 playoff rounds without having a gut check. This year, the gut check is happening now. The true test is how the players are dealing with it. Right now, they’re playing hard and not phoning it in, which is how it should be.
Last year, the team got every single bounce and most of the players had career years. This year, they’re not getting the bounces, which is affecting player’s scoring totals. But they haven’t given up yet. I want to keep seeing them not give up, keep banging away, and not backing down.

Bulldog also asked him about the Skating Tomato’s contract declaration. Goose mentioned that there’s no talking contracts in the locker room. Its not allowed. Period. However, he is taking it as a good sign that the Sabres are at least talking to people during the season. Compared to last year’s Briere/Drury fiasco, this is a step in the right direction. Does it mean that Soupy’s going to be signed? Only Darcy, Larry Quinn and Soupy know for sure.

Goose also politely and rationally smacked down Schopp and The Bulldog regarding their ripping of Sabres management for letting players walk away. He rightfully brought up that its not just management sitting at the table, the players are there too. The team can offer all the money in the world, but if the player doesn’t want to be there, its a moot point (or a moo point, if you’re Joey Tribbiani). Its a two sided situation – and the player has a right to go where he so chooses – and I think a lot of us fans stop listening to the rational side of our brains during stories and news about contracts and the like.

Lindy’s interview was just a rehash of the Soupy situation and the team’s current losing streak. He’s told the team not to act like a bunch of Eeyores; there will be no feeling sorry for themselves in his locker room. He also talked about Drury’s methods with the team, how Drury was always questioning why the team was doing what they were doing, how he worked out and constantly tried to improve himself. He also mentioned how Goose, Soupy and Staffy are the heirs to the Drury leadership empire in how they carry themselves both on and off the ice with their preparations. (Apparently, Lindy has not seen the Soupy video or is ignoring it. Gosh, I just realize I keep referring to the Soupy video like its some form of a sex tape or something. Which, GROSS!)

I can’t leave on that note, so here’s a bunny with a pancake on its head.

9 comments

  1. OK, I just found your blog about a week ago, and I check everyday, and love it! But, now I truly love you, you made a Joey Tribbiani reference! I love Friends =) So, I got the Moo point joke =) It’s like a cow’s opinion … keep up the good blogging =)


  2. I think it’s a mark of a truly exceptional hockey blog when an in-depth look at the team and what key guys are saying about it is capped off with a picture like that. You are brilliant. 😀


  3. Goose also politely and rationally smacked down Schopp and The Bulldog regarding their ripping of Sabres management for letting players walk away. He rightfully brought up that its not just management sitting at the table, the players are there too. The team can offer all the money in the world, but if the player doesn’t want to be there, its a moot point (or a moo point, if you’re Joey Tribbiani).

    I really just wanted to repeat that. I’m so glad that Goose said this. I’m sure it won’t have any great effect on fans who are already panicking but I’m glad he said it anyway. He gets a gold star! Honk!


  4. I think it’s a mark of a truly exceptional hockey blog when an in-depth look at the team and what key guys are saying about it is capped off with a picture like that. You are brilliant.

    Thanks, Schnookie! I needed something at the end and the bunny pancake picture is one of my favorites.

    I really just wanted to repeat that. I’m so glad that Goose said this. I’m sure it won’t have any great effect on fans who are already panicking but I’m glad he said it anyway. He gets a gold star! Honk!

    The rational part of me is rejoicing that he said this, but at the same time, the fan part of me is panicking that he said this. Does it mean that he’s going to go sign some ridiculous RFA deal at the end of this year, or does he want to stay in Buffalo? Its a catch-22, but worrying about this is going to drive all of us crazy. And there’s plenty of on-ice stuff to do that already.


  5. I agree with what Heather B quoted. I’ve been saying it all along, Goosie! It’s a player’s career and their life, they have to do what they perceive is best for them and hopefully for the team at the same time. Problems arise when fans and players don’t see eye to eye on what’s best.

    Bunny Pancake is an excellent picker-upper after the idea of a Soupy sex tape. Would anyone watch that? I certainly wouldn’t. I’ve only watched the Bucking Buffalo video once, and that was when I accidentally stumbled across it and had a “I hope no one sees this” chuckle like the day it was posted. Whoops.


  6. Great, Amy! I hadn’t even thought of Goose possibly talking about HIMSELF! I just assumed he was talking about Chris and Danny. You probably just set off Kate’s Goose alarm 🙂


  7. Heather, that explains the Honking sound I was hearing all day!


  8. HONK!HONK!HONK!HONK!

    Somehow I managed to miss this awesome post! Nice work, Amy! And I LOVE that bunny. The bunny really did erase a lot of the trauma of the Soupy video.

    (Excuse me, I have to go rock in the corner and obsessively worry about Goose flying away.)


  9. Okay, I just went to the Audio Vault and listened to Goose’s interview. First of all, LOVE HIM! But I had to come back here are report that I think Goose just wanted a chance to say (I’m creatively paraphrasing here), “Those guys ditched us of their own free will. They did it themselves.” Basically, Goose said, “Katebits, I will never ever leave you, because I am true and good, unlike those slag faced whores.” 😀 That’s what it sounded like to me at least!



Leave a Reply

