h1

Blech.

January 17, 2008

That about sums it up, doesn’t it?

The Sabres losing streak has hit 10 games. The power play sucks. They had an almost two minute 5-0n-3 against the Rangers and couldn’t capitalize.  At least the penalty kill is performing alright.

I have to admit that I was slightly disappointed in the team’s toughness factor last night. Colton Orr – a noted pest – steams into Miller, sending Miller into the net. No player steps up to defend their goalie. Ok, so Mair and Patches were a little ornery, but not much. I said it last night, but I reiterate that your goalie should not have to resort to defending himself by whomping people with his blocker.

Then, the hit at the end of the game on C-Mac was definitely something that the team should not have stood for. I’m glad to hear that Lindy was fired up in the postgame press conference, but where was the fire from his teammates? Were they already that checked out of the game that they couldn’t do anything? Were they already discussing what bars they were going to hit and sweater chasers they were going to pick up when they got back into town? Rob Ray said that this lack of fire is sending a message to the rest of the league that its perfectly acceptable to take liberties with our players. Well, you know what, it shouldn’t be, and someone needs to realize that.

One comment

  1. Amen, sister. It greatly disturbs me that I’m starting to hate my own team. I am the most loyal fan I know, and even I want to beat the crap out of them just to see if they’ll even bother to defend themselves.



Leave a Reply

