h1

Would You Like Some Cheese…

February 1, 2008

with that whine?

The Atlanta Journal Constitutional is reporting that the Thrashers are going to be out for blood tonight because the Sabres were laughing at them during the 10-1 whomping two weeks ago. Seriously? You’re whining about a whomping to the newspaper? I know, I shouldn’t criticize too much, since the a Sabre allegedly asked the Buffalo News to be nicer to them. But its still funny.

Of course, our beloved Lindy has to throw fuel on the fire by saying that he didn’t care if the score that night was 15-1, since a win is a win. Damn straight, Lindy. Damn straight.

Its February 1, which means the reign of Captain Spacho has come to an end. My heart thinks it Goose should be the February captain, but my head is saying that it should be either Roy or Pominville. I wish Lindy would make the announcement, since I need to know whether to HONK! WOOF! or get out my couture* in celebration.

* Not that I have any couture.

Trivia time: what 8 countries are represented on the Sabres roster? No cheating!

6 comments

  1. Is it wrong that I’m more excited about who might be captain than I am about tonight’s game? I enjoy the speculation. I think if Goose isn’t captain one month, the boys over at The Goose’s Roost are going to stage open rebellion.


  2. Ummmm. USA, Canada, Austria, Sweden, Germany, Russia, Czechoslovakia and Finland. I think.


  3. Mags wins!

    In case y’all are wondering, the idea for the trivia came from the Buffalo News article this morning about the Catwalk for Charity. Each country will be represented with a food station, plus stations with Irish food (for Crunchy’s heritage) and Italian (for Mr. Golisano’s).

    Anne, I’ll even settle for Assistant Captain Goose.


  4. On another topic completely…

    I thought that you might be interested to know that fans can vote for the Hobey Baker Award. By my count, two Sabres prospects, Tim Kennedy and Nathan Gerbe, are in the running. Here’s the website:

    http://hobeybaker.com/

    We need to start a grassroots PR campaign!

    Oh, and I’d be happy with Pommer or Goose, or both.


  5. Awww, I was too slow. Mark and I were just bandying about that piece of trivia a few days ago. I have no idea why. But I could list them all although it took me a minute to come up with Czech Republic.

    Goose should definitely get some kind of letter. Geez, what’s a fowl have to do to get a little respect?


  6. I don’t know his numbers this year, but Nathan Gerbe really impressed me at rookie camp this year. He’s like Briere 2.0, which hopefully means he doesn’t spear people as much…



Leave a Reply

