h1

A New Theory

March 6, 2008

– I really think that there’s a correlation between the enjoyment that I receive from intermission features and the current status of the Sabres. For instance, Sunday against Detroit featured Miller making ice cream and the hilarious shot of him wearing the shower cap, goggles and lab coat. We all know what happened in that game. Then last night, we had Stafford playing sled hockey with the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey squad. (Which, I would like to point out, has 7 members on Team USA. So go team!). I’m joining Staffy in being impressed by these guys ability to not only control the sleds and the puck, but also move so quickly up the ice. You could really tell that Staffy was having a good time trying to figure out how it worked. There was one point where he let out a “holy…” and I couldn’t tell if he stopped himself from the shit or it was edited out. I also noticed that the sled he was riding in came with a seat belt, while the rest of the sled hockey players were not belted in.

Staffy also mentioned that the sled hockey would be a good core workout for someone. Watch it kid, or Lindy just might think that sled hockey would be a good bonding exercise for the team. On a completely shallow note, Staffy looked good in jeans (hello, caboose) and I think he got a haircut, since he’s no longer rocking the fringe outside the helmet and hat.

– Moving on, can the Sabres play the rest of their games on the road? Maybe they need to get away from the home cooking, the puckbunnies and the local nightlife and just focus on hockey. Their home record is killing me.

– I’ve been pleasantly surprised by Sejkera’s play. I admit to not being thrilled by his callup, since Tri was perfectly healthy, but the kid logged the most ice time against the Flyers and had a solid 19 minutes against the Caps.

– I still think that the no goal was a goal. There’s about a half-second delay between the puck crossing the line and the whistle going. I heard RJ and Harry say that if any part of the puck is on the goal line, its no goal. But why is the opposite true for onsides? If there’s any part of the puck that’s on the blue line, the puck is still onside. I don’t get it, NHL. I do have to give the players credit for keeping their cool on the bench, and for politely disagreeing with the NHL’s call during postgame interviews.

– And where have I been that I had no idea that Olie Kolzig was from South Africa? I thought he was Swedish or Norwegian.

– Ovie should’ve gotten an interference penalty for his takedown of Big Bear. However, the only thing that it got was a goal for Washington, and a 9.5 from the Ukranian judge on Big Bear’s spin.

– So after the game, I decide to cheer myself up by watching General Hospital and MVP: The Secret Lives of Hockey Wives off my DVR. Yeah, that probably wasn’t the best idea. In the past week, GH has had (by my count) six people get strangled. And its not the traditional soapy strangling. They’ve been very ugly, brutal scenes. What happened to love in the afternoon? And on MVP, I’m really pissed with what they did to my favorite character. So hockey and TV are both pissing me off today.

3 comments

  1. Is your favorite MVP character Trevor? Cuz wow, that kid has turned into a douchebag. I hate what they did to Gabe – he’s my favorite player. I could fall in love with a dude like him. Most of the others – not so much.


  2. I really think the Sabres know that my love is waning, because just when it starts to slip they throw a “let’s show the world how adorable Drew Stafford is” segment at me. It’s just not fair, they keep sucking me back in!

    And, I totally noticed how his caboose was lookin’ fine and the first thing I noticed when he was practicing after his injury was not that he seemed to be healthy, but that he had, in fact, gotten a hair cut.


  3. – And where have I been that I had no idea that Olie Kolzig was from South Africa? I thought he was Swedish or Norwegian.

    Whoa, cool! I always knew he was German (his name is actually Kölzig, and his parents are both German), but I had no idea he was born in South Africa. That’s pretty unusual for an NHLer.



Leave a Reply

