h1

Another New Sabre

June 1, 2008

My, my, my, Darcy Regier has been a busy little beaver these past two days. Saturday he announced the signing of goalie prospect Jhonas Enroth. Today found him annoucing the signing of Buffalo’s own Tim Kennedy to a two year deal. Kennedy is the latest local product to sign with the Sabres, joining Pat Kaleta in the local contingent. Amherst resident Andrew Orpik has been drafted by the Sabres, but not yet signed.

So what do we know about Kennedy? He’s leaving Michigan State (and an assistant captaincy) before his senior season. He averaged almost a point-per-game during his three seasons at MSU. Now that there’s another MSU boy on the roster, Millsy has a friend to reminisce with about their alma mater. I just hope WWIII doesn’t break out in the locker room between Kennedy (a Timon/St. Jude boy) and Pat Kaleta (a St. Francis boy.) Hell hath no fury like local Catholic school rivalries.

Now that the children are all signed and accounted for, here’s to hoping that Darcy can now concentrate on the big boys. July 1 is going to be here before we know it.

7 comments

  1. Hell hath no fury like local Catholic school rivalries.

    As a WNY Catholic high school grad myself, nothing is more true. However, good ol’ St. Mary’s HS in Lancaster was never dominant in enough sports to have any rockin’ rivalries.

    I feel very proud of Darcy right now…Let’s hope he does not wreck the pride but only enhances it by getting all of our “core” locked up (I want to believe that signing Goose is next on the list).


  2. (I want to believe that signing Goose is next on the list).

    It better be! If they let him get away, Darcy will be SO, SO, SO sorry…..


  3. Jennfer, if Darcy knows what’s good for him, he’ll take our advice…


  4. I know. I’m normally not a violent person, but hey, we’re talking about Goose here. Violence has it’s place and defending Goose is it. I’d hate for my first trip to Buffalo to be wasted on stalking and terrorizing Darcy. I hear there’s so many more fun things to do in Buffalo.


  5. Catholic high school rivalries for sure. As a Mountie grad, I will never ever like Nardin. Ever.

    I’m getting even more excited for the season with all of this, as long as post July 1goes well…


  6. I’ve been reading Kennedy’s interview on the Buffalo News site, and he sounds completely adorable. He’s totally fixated on the change from college student to professional athlete.

    Catholic high school rivalries for sure. As a Mountie grad, I will never ever like Nardin. Ever.

    Hee. I know where you’re coming from there. I’m an Angels grad, and relations with Nardin were always…um…strained. Yeah, that’s a good word.

    And I really hope Goose’s signing is announced soon. I’m taking hope in the fact that his last contract negotiation went so easily.


  7. Tim & Pat are really close friends, actually. I know we’re not supposed to break the “fourth wall”, but I met them last summer and they’re pretty tight. So, no WWIII shall commence, unless one of them decides to steal Derek Roy’s hair gel. Hee.



Leave a Reply

