h1

More Reasons to Love Hockey

August 2, 2008

#5 – Game Day Skates.

When I take a day off in the winter, and if it happens to fall on a Sabres game day, I try to head down to the arena and watch the game day morning skate, which is open to the public. I like that I get to see more of the specialized drills than those used during a pre-game skate.You can kind of get a feel for what the coaching staff feels the team’s weakness is that day, whether its the power play, defense or the goaltending. You can also see which players take practice seriously, and which ones goof off.

The last morning skate I went to featured the power play trying to revitalize itself, a rousing pep-talk delivered by Lindy (sadly at the other end of the arena from where I was sitting, so I couldn’t hear what he was saying but he was gesticulating furiously) and Tim Connolly trying to shoot a puck through the photographers hole in the glass.

I like that the team opens these skates to the public. Its even better when there’s a few little kids there with their parents. They’re so excited about seeing these players up close. Its really adorable. (An entire lower bowl worth of parents and children would make me poke my ears out with something sharp.)

Leave a Reply

