h1

First Home Game and First Blog of the Season

October 9, 2010

So after being under the weather for yesterday’s Sabres/Sens game (nasty, nasty sinus headache that knocked me on my arse for most of the day), I decided to save game blogging for today, when I am slightly more coherent.

– After Katebits and Heather B’s discussion regarding the use of “Climb Every Mountain” as the new Sabres goal song, I have another idea that might be just as bizarre (and with a very high annoyance potential as well). Why not use Maxwell the Geico Pig’s WHEEEEE! as the post-goal celebration? I’m sure we’d all be volunteering to stab ourselves in the eardrums after 41 games of it, but for a game or two, it would be pretty cool.

– Moving on to another YouTube find, I’ve fallen in love with this Sesame Street parody of the Old Spice commercials. I think it’s the “moo” at the end that makes it art. Kudos to Sesame Street for stepping up and making a nice parody.

– While driving in to the office on Thursday, I caught most of Tyler Myers interview with Janet and Nick on Kiss. I commend Tyler for not giving in to Janet’s whining and hopping into the heart shaped hot tub in the studio for a photo op. If I had to make a bet, I’m sure Mike Gilbert was probably in the background emphatically shaking his head “no” as Janet was making her request.

Myers also discussed his current living situation. Right now, the two Tylers are currently rooming together, but Ennis constantly needs to be reminded to turn the lights off as they leave Chez Tyler. Myers grandparents will also be attending the first four home games, and Janet & Nick made sure to remind Myers to pick up a copy of Thursday’s paper so that she could have a copy of the Sabres preview section with the very nice write up about her grandson.

– Roby looks fantastic! Good to see him back on the broadcast tonight! I’ve missed his snarky battles with Rob Ray.

– My office is having a Halloween costume contest. I’m debating whether to dress up, and if I do, would a puckbunny outfit be made into something office appropriate? I was thinking that a jersey, leggings, short skirt and uggs would do the job nicely, with a sign saying “smile for me [Player Name].” I would go with “meet me behind the zamboni, [Player Name],” but that’s not office appropriate.

– The pregame video looks nice, and someone clearly spent a lot of time integrating hockey and pop culture for each era, but why was the broadcast not given a copy of the video so the fans at home could watch it without the sound & picture being filtered through an arena camera? That’s all sorts of cheesy.

– During player introductions, Chris Butler has a look on his face that could best be labeled as “Sabretooth ran over my dog in the lobby.” I love that the biggest rounds of applause were for Myers, Miller and Lindy. And if some poor soul that didn’t know the Sabres had turned on the game, they would probably wonder why poor sweet little Goose was getting booed.

– And speaking of Goose, is it me, or does he appear on the verge of laughter during the new Green Team video?

– This has not been a good night for Tyler Myers. First, the first Rangers goal goes off his foot. Then, he falls down behind the Sabres net, which leads to the Rangers second goal. This is not a good start to the game.

– I feel like I’m preaching to the choir here, but there’s something about tonight’s HD broadcast that feels a bit off. The sound on the HD channel is quieter than the sound on the regular HD channel, and the picture has a bit of that “dirty fishbowl” vibe to it. It’s not as crisp and clear of a picture as we’re used to seeing on HD broadcasts.

– Marc Staal is interviewed by Rob Ray at the end of the first period. Staal’s hair is two shades of brown and it’s not an attractive look on him. It makes him look patchy.

– Tonight’s FAIL is brought to you by the worldwide leader. Take a look at the playoff matchup stats on the header of the page.

Last time I checked, neither of those two teams were leading their series by the margin listed. Nice work, ESPN!

– After Leopold scores the first Sabres goal, a quick shot of the Rangers bench shows Torts looking less than amused like he wants to eat babies. Then again, I’ve never seen Torts as the warm and fuzzy type.

– Can someone please give Myers a beer or six during the intermission to calm him down and remove his jitters? Dude has been BRUTAL tonight.

– Scratch that, the ENTIRE fricking team has been brutal tonight. Stepan has a hat trick and the game isn’t even through the second period when it happens. Did the entire Sabres team leave their talent behind on a jetway in Ottawa?

– It’s always good to hear the team booed at the first home game of the season.

– In unrelated news, Royal Pains is back on Thursdays in January. Just what my DVR needs, another show on Thursdays. I’m sure by then Project Runway will be back on with a new season and then there’s Greys Anatomy. Not to mention hockey. That sound you’ll be hearing will be my DVR going blooey.

– The MSG commercial for Boomer and whatever the other guy’s name is with the air horn is getting my vote for the most annoying commercial in the history of bad sports commercials. If Sabres fans have to deal with 82 games of that, people will get twitchy.

– I can’t even tell what Sabres are giving an eff tonight. There seems to be a general apathy, malaise, lack of legs, too much cheese from the spaghetti parm in their bellies, whatever you want to call it, amongst the boys. If they’re like this on game two, then what will they be like at game fifty-three?

– Hmm. The third Sabres goal has got me thinking about goal songs again. What about “Bust a Move”? Most of the Sabres are children of the 80s; I’m sure they’d appreciate the classic rap song. (But please, no “Baby Got Back.” We must remain classy at the game. Blast that in the locker room if you must.)

– Two questions that I’ve always wanted to know the answers to:

  • If Miller and Lalime were to both get hit by a bus in the same game, who is the Sabres emergency goaltender? Does someone have to strap on the pads or would the Sabres have to forfeit?
  • What is James Patrick wired in to?

– Oh good, Goose puts the cherry on this ice cream sundae of a game by getting thrown out for unsportmanlike conduct after the Rangers sixth goal. The TV broadcast never showed us what he did. I’m assuming he cracked a stick somewhere he shouldn’t have? I hate when penalties are announced for things that we never see.

Leave a Reply

