h1

Happy Anniversary, Sabres!

October 15, 2010

Love the Flintstones.  They don’t make cartoons like that anymore.

– There’s a slight delay in getting the sound to work on the HD channel for tonight’s game. I do not understand why there is such difficulty every night in getting the sound to sync up. It’s not like they don’t know that the game is happening.

– I love, love, LOVE that we get to see the anthems tonight. I wish we would get see them every night. cough THAT’S A HINT, SABRES! cough. I know the only reason that we’re seeing them is because of the special nature of the night, but really, if HNiC can show the anthems, why can’t MSG. I’ll gladly give up K-Syl’s pregame blather if it means we can at least get a brief moment of showing respect for our country.

– One more rant…those pregame ceremonies were such a letdown. It’s the 40th anniversary of the franchise and all we do is recreate a face off and have one more to celebrate the next 40 years. Where’s the parade of Sabres alumni? Where’s a discussion of the greatest team moments? Why trot out Rick Azar if he’s not going to do anything? C’mon, that was pathetic. As Mike Harrington pointed out on Twitter the other day, The Buffalo News has done more to commemorate the anniversary than the Sabres have done. It’s almost a joke at this point.

– Why did no one think of giving Montador a box to stand on while filming the Green Team ads? When the camera pulls back for a long shot of Gaustad & Montador, it is notable how much shorter Montador is than the Goose. I’m just saying…

– I have to stop myself from listening to the leaked footage of The Rocky Horror Glee Show. I want to be surprised when the episode comes on in two weeks.

– While returning from a break, the broadcast shares with us Milt Ellis announcing a penalty on Gaustad. Ellis’ voice sounds a bit gravelly, but it still has that gravitas that a PA announcer voice must maintain.

– After the end of the first, neither the Habs nor the Sabres have scored. Which is both a good thing and a bad thing. But at least they’re trying.

– I can tell that it’s going to be that kind of season when the first Montreal goal rolls off Butler’s foot into the net. If it weren’t for bad luck, the Sabres would have no luck at all.

– Am I missing something or is their currently no way to comment on TBN blogs? I see I can “like” them, I can “tweet” them, but I cannot comment on them. (Of course, I wouldn’t be able to comment since I haven’t registered, but it’s still fun to read others comments.) If I’m late to the party on noticing this, just embrace the fact that I showed up at all.

– Since the Sabres are less than inspiring tonight, I have moved on to browsing Cake Wrecks. Now I want cake. I have no cake. I get cake at the office this week, but that doesn’t help me now.

– RJ shares (almost overshares) that he was so happy that Dave Hannan ended the game against the Devils in 1994 because he had to go to the bathroom really, really badly. This is what the game has come to at this point: potty stories.

– I have to wonder if the reason the Sabres are so woeful lately is because they lost Pominville, who apparently might just be the entire key to The System. Better yet, what if Jason Pominville is The System. Think about it. Have you ever seen Pominville and The System in the same place at the same time? Hmmm? Yes, that’s what this game has done to my brain. It’s driven it around the bend and off the cliff.

– After Roy scores the Sabres first goal, Ray says that if Roy hadn’t scored on his second attempt at the net, he might have curled up on the ice and cried. There are so many directions I can go with this statement that I don’t even know where to begin.

– The fact that the picture froze in the final seconds of the Sabres game is a nice bookend to this game. The steaming pile of ish that was this game is sandwiched between audio & video difficulties. Awesome Sabres. Way to go. Way to honor 40 years of history tonight.

Leave a Reply

