h1

Miscellaneous Mutterings

March 24, 2011

– Color me impressed with Nathan Gerbe lately. He’s one of those guys who doesn’t rely on talent alone to get him through, he works hard and mixes that hard work with talent and tenacity to make plays. He completely outworked Subban at the end of the Montreal game. Even though the Sabres were about 99.9% assured of the win at that point, Gerbe didn’t turn on cruise mode. He kept working. I feel like that’s something that the Sabres as a whole sometimes forget to do during games. Once they get that magical two goal lead, they sit back and turn on cruise mode and then stand there and watch stuff happen around them or make dumb mistakes. Exhibit A was the Nashville game on Sunday. That game should have been locked down after the Sabres went up 3-1. Instead careless mistakes were made, the team lost and had no one to blame but themselves. And they did, but they rebounded well from it.

But back on the Gerbe topic, I still adore the Gerbe, Gaustad, Mancari line combination. Lindy found something special with them. I hope the line still continues to work out.

– I’m COMPLETELY SHOCKED that a fight broke out on the ice during a hockey game. Completely shocked. I mean, who knew that hockey included fighting? However, the way some of these parents were carrying on, you would think that these hockey players were having a group fornication with goats at center ice rather than just engaging in normal fisticuffs that are associated with a hockey game. I understand that fighting is in no way acceptable in “real” life, but you cannot take kids to a game where fighting is a part of the game (for better or worse) and then act all holier then thou when a fight breaks out in front of your precious snowflakes. Maybe I’ll feel differently when/if I ever have kids, but hockey can be one of the most family friendly sports out there. That seems to be getting lost in the pearl clutching going on in Portland.

– If this photo from Tuesday night’s Sabres game doesn’t make you smile, then I don’t know what will. It’s such a perfect mix of joy, tiredness & relief all rolled into one. What a great moment captured by the photographer.

– I hate that we’re now into the scoreboard watching, “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” portion of the season. While it does give me an extra incentive to watch additional hockey games, it becomes maddening that I’m forced to root for teams that normally turn my stomach, like Ottawa. And Philadelphia. That’s just not right.

– I’m not a San Fransisco Giants fan, but this new Showtime documentary about the team looks like it could be really good TV. It stinks that we have to wait until July for it to begin. I know Showtime wants to do a good job with it, but if HBO can turn around their 24/7 series on a dime, why is Showtime waiting so long to debut theirs?

Leave a Reply

