h1

Doing Some Penance

April 10, 2011

In December, I wrote about my new Sabres toaster. At that point, I had stuck the literal fork in the Sabres playoff chances. It was right after Derek Roy’s season-ending injury was announced and the team was finding new and different ways to consistently be terrible. It was not a good time to be a Sabres fan.  However, at the end of my post, I also made the note that if by some small miracle the team did make the playoffs, that I would eat my words.

Well, this morning, I did eat my words. I had a piece of toast and acknowledged that I was wrong and the fork was prematurely stuck in the Sabres playoff chances.

I can’t wait for the playoffs to start. The birds are chirping, the sun is shining and there’s the smell of springtime in the air. It’s perfect playoff weather. I feel much more optimistic about this year’s playoff success than I did last year’s. We have two excellent goalies on the roster, a scoring line that is finally clicking, a surprising 3rd line combination in Gerbe/Gaustad/Mancari and a somewhat solid defense (provided one overlooks those rare lapses).

Is it Thursday yet?

Let’s Go Buffalo!

Leave a Reply

