h1

Meet The Guys

September 22, 2008

The IPB Fantasy Hockey Leagues held their annual draft this past weekend. House rules dictate that participants can only draft players from the conference opposite their favorite team. So once again, I will be getting a crash course in the Western Conference. Setting my pre-draft rankings was a bit like the player selection scene in Major League (“who are these fucking guys? / This one’s dead! Cross him off the list then.”) Last year, my team, the Mother Puckers, finished 5th in the league. I can only hope to move upward this year.

After the draft, I was pleasantly surprised at how this year’s team – christened The Little Honkers – has shaken out:

– Roberto Luongo, Ales Hemsky, and Marek Zidlicky are all returning for a second year on my team. I still have a Sedin on board, but this time its Henrik, instead of Daniel.

– I’ve also picked up a couple of Blackhawks. Brian Campbell will alternately cause me to cheer wildly and swear like a lunatic. In other words, it will be like he never really left town! I also managed to pick up Pat Kane. No, not in that way. Remove heads from gutter, then continue reading this post.

– The Stars also have a small presence on the Honkers, with Mike Ribeiro, Matt Niskanen and Marty Turco all looking to play a key role. The only one I’m not sure about is Niskanen. I don’t know a lot about him. Hell, for a good chunk of last season, I thought he was Swedish.

– And what team is complete without some sort of criminal element? Kristian Huselius – one of Tallinder’s co-defendants in the Swedish sexcapades a few years back – fills this role this year.

So yeah, its going to be a fun year. First opponent is Meg’s Mutinous Peons.

2 comments

  1. Niskanen will be a good pick-up for you. He’s an up-and-coming young player. The Stars’ coaching staff talked him up a lot last year. If I remember correctly – he’s American too!


  2. Amanda, I know *now* that Niskanen is American. It just took me a little longer to catch on to that fact.



Leave a comment